Remo
DrumTalk » Education

Drum Teacher.
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster Drum Teacher.
karlhungus

No. 1 Posted on Jan 13, 2006 1:26 PM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Does everyone need a drum teacher to learn how to play drums & read music? If you can't afford a teacher what do you do? Can you teach youself to play & read music? Does every drummer have a teacher? I'm just starting out & i'm getting frustrated, Because I don't know if I'm doing things correctly. I don't know if I'm using My metronome correctly, If I'm going to fast or to slow. I wonder if all big time drummers had a teacher? Any help & advice welcome. Thank You.

RemoAmbass

No. 2 Posted on Jan 18, 2006 5:03 AM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Luckily today there are tons of videos online to help you! Do searches and you might find help!

ChaosDrummer

No. 3 Posted on Jan 18, 2006 4:17 PM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
I've had a teacher for drums, but not guitar. I picked up guitar fairly fast with no teachers and books, but drums usually take special technique and if you do start doing something wrong it can be hard to break

pwc

No. 4 Posted on Feb 16, 2006 9:59 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
In theory, you can learn to read etc without a teacher but nothing will be a better investment than going to one. In the meantime, try the Vic Firth web site for some good rudiment stuff. Look at drummer world under "grooves" at some nice videos.
Also try tigerbills web site. There are quite a few sites that give you some basic guidelines. Good luck

Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
syncopation