Remo
DrumTalk » Education

How do I go about this...
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster How do I go about this...
remodrummer90

YO!

No. 1 Posted on May 1, 2008 9:38 PM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Here's the deal. My girlfriends dad wants me to teach his little boy how to play drums. The kid is only about 6 years old and is already doing 16th note fills around the set, He just doesn't know it.

I've been playing for about 9 years. I took lessons myself, but only for about a month. (thats about 4 lessons). For some reason my mother stoped paying for the lessons. I had to figure the rest out on my own.

THE POINT IS...
I don't know the first thing about teaching a kid how to play.

Do I start with theory?
Do I start with basic rythems and rudiments?
What books can I pick up to help me , basicly...become a teacher?

Thanks.
-nick

Texray1

No. 2 Posted on Jun 25, 2008 8:46 AM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
6 year-olds usually have short attention spans. Do lots of little seperate things each lesson. A few minutes of a new groove to think about. A few minutes on old grooves. A few minutes on 1 or 2 rudiments. Eventually you can work on notes and writing and reading music. I wouldn't rush into that at his age.

Don't get too frustrated that some days he will be exhausted from playing with his friends or swimming at the pool and he just can't focus on drums. It will likely happen on occasion. If he seems to get stagnant in his practicing, spread out the lessons to every two weeks.

Texray1

No. 3 Posted on Jun 25, 2008 8:48 AM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite