Remo
DrumTalk » Drum Talk

To the Owners of the Drum Dial
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster Re:To the Owners of the Drum Dial [Re:PoorButGood]
HammerDown

No. 51 Posted on Jul 25, 2005 7:42 AM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
The Drum Dial, for those that belive it helps them...great, have at it.
My brother who is a gadget guy had to have one, so for giggles I tryed it and herd for myself first hand that the drums STILL had to be tuned by ear.
Personally I don't have the need for it, or feel it works very good.
Guess I'm one of the lucky ones that can tune by ear (and fast) either my basic 5 piece old Big Ludwigs (that I know aren't perfectly round w/out laser cut bearing edges...lol) OR my brothers (way to many) 12 piece Tama Rock Stars.
But then again when I started playing drums, back in 1970 (cough-cough..lol) one had no choice but to learn how to tune properly, or sound like poo.
So the bottom line is, have fun drum dial users.Tongue

moneyowen

No. 52 Posted on Jul 25, 2005 7:46 AM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
well thats good, my boy, but guitar tuners work because they display a very specific pitch which we then try to obtain with our own string on our own guitar. No such thing is happening when we tune drums or use gadgets to help us do it.