Remo
DrumTalk » Drum Talk

Snare drum overtones, rings
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster Snare drum overtones, rings
Kinder

No. 1 Posted on Jun 5, 2014 5:44 AM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Hello everyone, im kinda new here.
So i bought a Remo BLack Suede Black X snare drum skin, cause my old "default" skin was horrible and was giving tons of rings and overtones. After i changed it i was expecting a nice damped sound form it. But i got really small diferences. I already tried folding a little square of tape and taping it on the side of the snare drum and got no different at all. The best sound i can get is putting cloth on top of it, but that takes off alot of the bounce i need. I also tried tunning it and i don't know if i actually tunned it right cause im kinda new to this whole thing. Even tho i know the overtone/ring will be good tomorow in the concert in an open space with the guitars and everything, the musics we are gonna play have alot of "me" time, where i basicly use ALOT of the snare, i mean alot. And i need a really good sounding snare. I need to fix it as fast as possible, i already tried alot of things and non worked. I have no money to buy moongel or any other type of equipment. I still have my old, basicly full plastic skin, but i dont know how to cut it to make a ring, and if all the things i tried didnt work, i dont know if im gonna get a whole better sound with just the ring.
Snare: 14"x 5 1/2" Metal Snare Drum

Singlestroker

No. 2 Posted on Jun 5, 2014 2:24 PM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite