Remo
DrumTalk » Drum Talk

A small but useful mod
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster A small but useful mod
paul

paulmiller

No. 1 Posted on Mar 20, 2013 1:03 PM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
I've been using Slicknuts for several years, but after getting a couple of the Tama quick release toppers am switching over, with a small change.

Before installing the topper I glue a hihat clutch felt to the bottom. I've been using these felts on crashes and splashes for some time, and like them better than the large kind.

The presence of those seeking the truth is infinitely preferable to the presence of those who think they've found it. - Terry Pratchett

Just Add Sticks

OldFart

Mapex

No. 2 Posted on Mar 20, 2013 5:23 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Looks smart. Same with the Slicknut. I was really thinking of turning to something like this since before long I sense I'll inadvertently strip the wing-nut threads.

Last I tried anything like that was the Aquarian Cymbal Spring , which I liked. Twas long ago.

Currently using what came as part of the Kit, which are Mapex OS Cymbal Accentuators, and are harder to describe than simply show.

They seem to allow the cymbal to sound-out its own sustain and tonal voice - whatever that might be.

I like to let the cymbal ring and wobble as it needs to. I usually don't inhibit it. I do choke the cymbals from time to time - rarely,actually - without trying to follow Carmine Appice's patented cymbal gymnastics.

Copying your Mod but gluing my 'cymbal accentuators' there might be a way to work both angles.

OldFart edited on Mar 20, 2013 5:39 PM

Mapex Saturn * Paiste
Terry Bozzio Single-Ply Coated
paul

paulmiller

No. 3 Posted on Mar 21, 2013 7:26 PM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite