Remo
DrumTalk » Drum Talk

Fill ideas
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster Fill ideas
technique2012

No. 1 Posted on Sep 25, 2012 7:40 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
I'm only a middle school drummer and though I'm considered relatively good for my age, my fills are weak. Very, very weak. All I have are fast single strokes and flams. What do you do for your fills?

"Anyone can make the simple complicated. Creativity is making the complicated simple."
-Charles Mingus
technique2012

No. 2 Posted on Sep 25, 2012 7:41 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Sorry, I posted this topic twice! Ignore this one and respond to the first one! So sorry!

"Anyone can make the simple complicated. Creativity is making the complicated simple."
-Charles Mingus
pwc

No. 3 Posted on Sep 25, 2012 7:51 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
There are hundreds of videos on YouTube related to fills.
&b stroke rolls, paradiddles around the kit and so much more.

Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.
RvJim

Reverend

No. 4 Posted on Sep 25, 2012 11:12 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
I say worry about it less and practise your rudiments with a metronome. Fills will come naturally once you start playing with out musicians more. But, unless you can play them in time and have the rudiments to do anything they will sound bad.

"The right to be heard does not automatically include the right to be taken seriously"
-Hubert H Humphrey
knightcrawler

No. 5 Posted on Sep 26, 2012 6:12 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
RvJim wrote: