Remo
DrumTalk » General Discussion

The end of the road
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster The end of the road
RvJim

Reverend

No. 1 Posted on Aug 27, 2013 10:55 PM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Some of you may know that I've been studying for a LONG time. I joined this forum about 9 years ago when I was an undergraduate. In that time, I've completed a Bachelor of Mathematics, a Graduate Certificate in IT, a Master of Applied Science (Physics) and today I finally got the letter that confers to me the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Mechanical Engineering) for my thesis: In-Cylinder Pressure and Inter-Cycle Variability Analysis for a Compression Ignition Engine: Bayesian Approaches.

It has been a long road, the thesis took me just over 4 years to write (I finished writing it end of November last year). In Australia the examination process is very rigourous and takes a long time. It goes through internal review, which includes a public seminar, then it goes to external review (2 independent reviewers) then it comes back and has to be signed off by 4 academics. My thesis has been nominated for a university award (fingers crossed), I find out the outcome of that next year.

For those who've kept track of my career on here, thank you for your support. Looking forward to not having to study toward a degree again (until I retire and do a music degree!)

Dr. Tim Smile

"The right to be heard does not automatically include the right to be taken seriously"
-Hubert H Humphrey
Singlestroker

No. 2 Posted on Aug 28, 2013 2:38 AM Profile | PM | Email | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
Congratulations, Dr Tim. I hope that your hard work is fully rewarded.

pwc

No. 3 Posted on Aug 28, 2013 8:13 AM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite