Remo
DrumTalk » General Discussion

Retirement
go to previous topicgo to next topic

post new topic reply to topic Print this post Print post Forward this post Forward post Click to watch this topic Watch This Topic flat mode Flat threaded mode Threaded
Poster Retirement
pgdrums

No. 1 Posted on Feb 18, 2013 9:27 AM Profile | PM | Quote | Search | Copy | Favorite
I've been contemplating my retirement from my band for quite some time, but I finally got the courage to pull the trigger this weekend, when I announced that I would be retiring at the end of the year. This is very bittersweet for me, and one of the hardest things I've ever had to do.

I've been playing in working bands off and on since 1990, but my current band beats my record with any other group by a large margin. At the end of the year, it will have been 12 1/2 years with the same band. I helped co-found the group in the summer of 2001, and I've been managing it since about 2003. It's the most talented band I've ever been a part of, and also the most commercially successful.

It's also been the most work. We put a ridiculous amount of customization and attention to detail into each performance, and we have an absurdly elaborate sound system for a local band. Our setup is laborious, and our client support is very time-consuming. About 80% of our work is high-dollar wedding receptions, and I've always considered them to require more responsibility and preparation than corporate events and concerts, which account for the other 20% of our work. As the manager, this pressure has always fallen on my shoulders. Fortunately, we've never dropped a ball and have never had an event that didn't go smoothly as a result of something we did wrong, but 12 years later, it still makes me nervous that something will slip through the cracks. I won't miss that part of it.